Committee Composition

Below is a summary of our committee structure and membership information. To read more about any of the committees, click on committee names in the chart below.
Chairperson Chairperson Committee Member Member Financial Expert Financial Expert
 Audit Committee CharterCompensation Committee CharterNominating and Corporate Governance Committee
Timothy Barberich 
Timothy Barberich
Outside Director

Mr. Timothy Barberich most recently served as Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Sepracor, Inc. for more than 20 years before it was acquired by Dainippon Sumitomo in 2009. At Sepracor, Barberich grew corporate revenues to $1.3 billion though the successful commercialization and partnering of several products, including Allegra®, Brovana ®, Clarinex®, Lunesta® and Xopenex ®. Before founding Sepracor, Barberich held several senior level marketing and sales positions at Millipore Corpora... 

Carsten Boess Financial Expert
Carsten Boess
Chief Business Officer, Kiniksa Pharmaceuticals

Mr. Boess brings more than two decades of experience in finance in the biotech and pharmaceutical industries to the board of Inotek. He is currently the Chief Business Officer at Kiniksa Pharmaceuticals, a privately held biotechnology company. He previously served as Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer at Synageva Biopharma Corporation from 2011 until the company’s acquisition by Alexion Pharmaceuticals in 2015. Prior to his role at Synageva, Mr. Boess served in multiple roles w... 

Chairperson   Committee Member
Paul G. Howes 
Paul G. Howes
Outside Director

Mr. Howes joined the board of Inotek in September of 2008 and also served for five years as the Company's President & CEO. Currently, he serves as the Executive Chairman of ThromboGenics, Inc., and on the board of its Belgian parent company, ThromboGenics NV.

Mr. Howes brings over 25 years of commercial strategy, product development and sales and marketing experience with a significant focus in the field of ophthalmology. Prior to joining Inotek, Mr. Howes was President of the Ameri... 

Committee Member   
Patrick Machado 
Patrick Machado
Outside Director

Mr. Machado was a co-founder of Medivation, Inc. and served as its Chief Business Officer from December 2009 to April 2014 and as its Chief Financial Officer from December 2004 until March 2014. From 1998 to 2001, Mr. Machado was employed by ProDuct Health, Inc., a privately held medical device company, as Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and General Counsel from 1998 to 2000 and as Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer from 2000 to 2001. From 2001 to 2002, Mr. Machado serv... 

Committee Member   
Gary M. Phillips, MD 
Gary M. Phillips, MD
Senior Vice President, Chief Strategy Officer, Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals

Dr. Phillips has served as Senior Vice President, Chief Strategy Officer at Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals plc since October 2013. He was also President of Autoimmune and Rare Diseases at Mallinckrodt from August to December 2014. Gary was Head of Global Health & Healthcare Industries at the World Economic Forum in Geneva from January 2012 to September 2013. He was President of Reckitt Benckiser Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (now Indivior) from 2011 to 2012. He served as President of U.S. Surgical and ... 

  Committee Member  
Richard N. Spivey, PharmD, PhD 
Richard N. Spivey, PharmD, PhD
Outside Director

Dr. Spivey is a senior pharmaceutical executive with 30 years of research and development (R&D) experience within large, medium, and small global pharmaceutical companies. He currently serves as a scientific advisor to the Industry and as an Independent Board Director.

Prior to his current role, Dr. Spivey was Senior Vice President and Head of Global Regulatory Affairs at Allergan, a global pharmaceutical and medical device company. Previously, he was Chief Scientific Officer and He... 

  Committee Member Chairperson